Categories
Commemorative Stamps Illustration Options

Commemorative Stamps Mockups

With my illustrations finished and turned into stamps, I decided to take the next step and make mockups of my Commemorative Stamps. For this, we had two choices of potential mock ups, either a postcard, or a folder/presentation pack. I originally thought I would follow the latter, but I struggled to find a ‘postage stamp folder mockup’ and instead of wasting my time, I decided to quickly move onto a postcard mockup. The mockup I used can be find in the link I have embedded below:

However, before I could start my mockups, my fellow classmate pointed out in our group chat, that Royal Mail postcards follow a specific style. I was unaware of this, and it is only with a quick internet search that I soon learnt what my classmate was talking about. The Royal Mail postcards follow a different style when compared to a classic, everyday postcard and as we are ‘asked’ by the Royal Mail for these stamp designs, the mockups should be similar to their postcard styles.

Below I have placed examples of what the front and back of the Royal Mail postcards should look like. The front should hold the actual stamp, not the design for the stamp and for a clear difference of the stamp outline and the background, it seems to sit on a off-yellow/beige colour.

Royal Mail Star Wars Postcards Eight In a Set
1. Royal Mail Star Wars Postcard

As for the back of the stamp, this remains white. But instead of offering a section to write down the address with lines, the back is empty. Instead, the Royal Mail postcard holds their logo and a small description of the stamp design on the front of the postcard.

STAR WARSPostcards (Eight in a set) | Royal Mail
1. Royal Mail Back of Postcard

With the reference image above, I was able to recreate the Royal Mail postcard back on my own mockup, but the only aspect that I was missing, was the Royal Mail logo. For this, I just used Google, and asked for the ‘Royal Mail logo in black and white’ – I have sourced this logo at the end of my post and place a copy of it below:

Royal Mail Logo PNG Transparent & SVG Vector - Freebie Supply
2. Royal Mail Logo in Black and White

After taking into account the aesthetic of a true Royal Mail postcard, this was my final mockup outcome for my own stamps. I decided that I would take a slightly different approach and use a ‘Folded Postcard’ as the base of my mockup. I made this decision because it allows me to not only showcase both the stamp design clearly, the redesigned postcard back in the Royal Mail guidelines but also the stamp I have designed as an actual stamp in true size. The only part of the Royal Mail postcard aesthetic I couldn’t incoporate was the coloured background and this is only because the background is too similar of a colour for some areas of my designed stamp, especially since I made the decision to have my stamp designs reach from edge to edge. My mockups can be seen below:

Commemorative Stamp Mockups:


Sources

  1. STAR WARSPostcards (Eight in a set) | Royal Mail. 2020. STAR WARSPostcards (Eight in a set) | Royal Mail. [ONLINE] Available at: https://shop.royalmail.com/star-warstm-postcards-eight-in-the-set. [Accessed 10 December 2020].
  2. Freebie Supply. 2020. Royal Mail Logo PNG Transparent & SVG Vector – Freebie Supply. [ONLINE] Available at: https://freebiesupply.com/logos/royal-mail-logo/. [Accessed 10 December 2020].

Leave a comment